Oscars 2013, the statuesque and the just plain ugly.

The 2013 Oscars were amazing, as were some of the fashion choices. I am going to detail my favorite 3 looks and tell you about the 3 looks that should go to Oscar jail.

Image

I may have a biased opinion when it comes to this post because my obsession with all things J-Law is seriously unhealthy. The girl can do NO wrong. Her Dior Haute Couture gown was one of my absolute favorites from the Spring 2013 Couture runways, Raf Simmons can do no wrong the whole collection was remarkable. The detailing on the fabric is simply remarkable and the structure of the dress is an old school throwback to classic Dior. She may have fallen up the stairs on her way to receive her Oscar but the Dior gown made it a classy one, unlike those by many other celebrity starlets stumbling out of clubs. She paired the gorgeous gown with a beautiful Chopard necklace and a Roger Vivier clutch.

 Image

Charlize Theron was another who rocked Dior Haute Couture. I was little annoyed because it reminded me of the Chanel gown Anne Hathaway wore to the Golden Globes this year. I loved the simplicity of it with her amazing pixie. Although I am slowly becoming sick of the peplum trend I thought this design was gorgeous, and flattered every ounce of her figure. Charlize is 100% one of my best dressed of the night.

Image

Stacy Keibler…amazing. I am absolutely obsessed with her Naeem Khan gown. It is just pure metallic perfection. She was styled by the fabulous Brad Goreski and he did a remarkable job accentuating every perfect part of this woman’s body. I thought it was going to be hard to top last years amazing Marchesa moment, but I think she did. The hair, the simplicity of the Lorraine Schwartz jewels, and the most perfect placement of the belt made for one of my favorite Oscar dresses EVER!

The No NO NO’s

 Image

When Queen Blair Waldorf of Gossip Girl wears a dress, you do not follow suit and wear the same dress. Leigton Meester’s character Blair Waldorf adorned this GORGEOUS Elie Saab creation (one of my favorite designers) in the series finale. Everytime this girl, Alicia Vikander (no idea who she is) came on my television screen all I could think about was Chuck and Blair’s wedding. Sorry girl, Blair did it better.

 Image

ANNE HATHAWAY WHAT WERE YOU THINKING. Everything about this choice of EVERYTHING was oh so wrong. I honestly cannot even look at a picture without getting frustrated.  I love Prada, but this design is horrible. The high neckline with the necklace, the wrinkled dress, the horrible placement of the pleating, the back, it looked like a cheap prom dress threw up all over her. She has done so much better!! Her Les Mis press tour looks topped every single design she has worn for awards season. Just UGHHHHH!

 Image

Renee…no…just no.

I cannot believe awards season is over…until next year.

Leave a Reply

