Spring Has Sprung !!!

photo 1

YES! FINALLY! Spring has arrived after what has seemed like the longest, coldest, most miserable East Coast winter in history. Personally, I am NOT a fan of the cold, the rain, the snow, and everything that good old winter brings. When there is that first sign of warmth I am the first person to run outside and praise the sun. Needless to say I went on the most remarkable run at home this weekend. After Hurricane Sandy our town was devastated along with many of the places I grew up, so it was great to run on the beach, on the boards, and by the bay!

photo 3[1]

After I got all the running out of my system, I went on a shopping spree. Ever since moving to NYC I tend to gravitate towards black clothing items…it’s a New York thing haha. I was desperate to get back to my laid back, flowy dress, boho style, that has vanished since moving here. Low and behold I found so many great pieces…I even got a pair of $300.00 boots for free, yes F-R-E-E! I am the ultimate bargain shopper, not a coupon crazy, but always in search of a great sale. I came home with bags and bags of maxi-dresses, shoes, boots, hats, sweaters, tees, skirts, and overalls (do not judge until you try), etc. I spent a little bit TOO much $$ for my budget, but I am ultimately thrilled with my purchases. I was inspired, so maybe I can inspire you as well. I have rounded up my favorite spring trends and purchases I made! I decided to do a splurge vs. steal concept for everyone’s budget & all the pictures are clickable so you can order right on the spot. Enjoy!

Favorite Spring Item #1 : Overalls

Citizens of Humanity: 'Quincy' Stretch Denim Overalls $297

So before you say anything, overalls, overalls, overalls, overalls! I am obsessed with them. Who knew this childhood staple would make a comeback. I was inspired reading my favorite blog WeWoreWhat. The woman behind the blog, Danielle Bernstein, finally made me invest in a pair, after I had been going back and forth on the idea for a few weeks. After seeing how well she styled them, I took the overall plunge. The ones above are a splurge by Citizens of Humanity they are priced at $297, they were one of my purchases and I am so thrilled with them!!! They are the absolute cutest, styled with a great pair of heels. Below is a steal from my favorite British site ASOS made by River Island at a retail price of $49 bucks!

image1xxl

Who can say no to that. The steal is definitely the better deal if you are unsure about this trend, but if you can go with the Citizens, do so. They are incredibly comfortable and adorable!

Favorite Spring Item #2: Boho Hats

Screen shot 2013-04-15 at 3.14.46 PM

Okay so there is only one hat that has captured my heart and it is a steal!! It is from Free People. It helps that there is a store a block away from my office…or does not help in terms of my wallet. I tried this hat on one day in the store while shopping, didn’t purchase it, left the store, and had dreams about it for the next two weeks. I finally laid out the $60 for it, and have been a happy camper ever since! It is perfection, absolute perfection.

Favorite Spring Item #3: Maxi Dresses

Screen shot 2013-04-15 at 3.33.16 PM

Maxi dresses are nothing new. They have been a popular staple in the wardrobes of females everywhere. What is better than throwing on a long flowing dress in the summertime…that’s right…nothing. I actually hate wearing tight jeans or pants in the summertime, nothing repulses me more. I would much rather wear a gorgeous dress that is light and feminine. The splurge I have selected is by The Reformation, one of my favorite brands. I recently purchased a gorgeous low-cut mini dress from them…its stellar! The dress above retails for $278, which is not all that bad, but also not that cheap. Below is a dress by Free People, its a simple cotton dress that looks extremely comfortable for the summer heat that will be upon us shortly!

Screen shot 2013-04-15 at 3.30.02 PM

It retails for a steal price of $88, and once I can get to the store to try it on it will definitely be hanging in my closet! A plus, it comes in three colors so if you are not a big fan of the pink, you can get it in camo, or black! The cute side and back draping is a cute and different touch to this otherwise classic dress.

Favorite Spring Trend #4: High Waisted Shorts

Screen shot 2013-04-15 at 3.45.19 PM

Ah a girls best/worst friend! This style can be either flattering or the worst thing to ever grace your hips. First, you must find your correct size. They are sized way differently than normal jeans and shorts due to the location of the button and waist. So, before you order yourself a pair online that you cannot squeeze a leg into, go to a store and try them on!! The above pair are by Citizens of Humanity ( I love citizens as you can tell). They are a little pricey for a pair of shorts, and retail for $179, but they are the stretchiest most comfortable things on the face of the earth. I have them in my shopping cart on shopbop waiting for my next paycheck! Below are a pair I actually purchased from one of my new favorite brands MinkPink. We work with the brand a lot here at Swimsuit so naturally I browse their website from time to time.

Screen shot 2013-04-15 at 3.40.20 PM

These shorts are still a little expensive for a pair of shorts but worth it, I will not be taking these bad boys off once Spring/Summer is in full swing! They retail for $74 but I can assure you, they will be worn plenty of times! They go with everything!!!!

Alright well hope you like my favorite trends for Spring. Once the temperature hits around 70, I will be racing through the streets of NYC in my new duds. Probably racing to a sale or thrift shop (my new favorite hobby). Hope you like these picks! And maybe you’ll purchase one of these items for your spring wardrobe…do it, do it, do it!!! You know you want to! xx

Leave a Reply

