Summer Pasta Salad with Arugula

DSCN8191

 

I was browsing the internet for some new summer recipes to spice up my repertoire, I wanted something simple that I could make in bulk and store in the fridge for a few days. When I get home from work the last thing I want to do is cook. I found this recipe on one of my favorite recipe sites Skinnytaste, and decided to give it a whirl with some modifications of course. I absolutely despise sundried tomatoes and capers, they actually repulse me. So I completely omitted the capers (adding a little extra salt to compensate) and used fresh cherry tomatoes in place of the sun dried ones. I also am not supposed to eat wheat so I opted for a Corn Pasta instead (Whole Foods was out of my normal quinoa pasta), added garbanzo beans for some protein since I am vegetarian & doubled the amount of arugula called for in order to lessen the carb load per serving.

 

*Forgot the arugula & parmesan in the below picture!

 

DSCN8105
Ingredients:

  • 8 cups of baby arugula (it wilts when added to the hot pasta)
  • 1 pound of your preferred pasta
  • 1/2 a cup of grape tomatoes, sliced in half
  • 4 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • salt and fresh pepper to taste
  • 2 tbsp freshly shaved Parmigiano Reggiano
  • 1 15oz. can of chickpeas (no salt added)

Boil pasta in salted water according to package directions.

DSCN8111

While boiling, drain & rinse the garbanzo beans, wash and cut up the tomatoes and wash the arugula. When the pasta is a nice al dente, drain and rinse under cold water.

DSCN8133

Return the pasta to the hot pan & add your arugula. Stir until wilted.

DSCN8144

Transfer to a new bowl & add your cherry tomatoes, balsamic vinegar, olive oil, salt and pepper! (I save the garbanzo beans for last because they tend to soak up the balsamic vinegar and oil if added first),

DSCN8189

Once mixed, top with beans, sprinkle parmesan on top & serve! Do not mind the ugly paper plates. Eek!

DSCN8240

One thought on “Summer Pasta Salad with Arugula

Leave a Reply

