A Cloudy Day in London

Our third day in London started off dreary and cloudy, but we were determined to make the most of it. We had some breakfast, then headed off to the London underground, hitting up Trafalgar Square along the way.

IMG_1550

My sister took around 8,000,000 selfies the entire trip.  I am not a selfie pro but have taken the occasional, but as you can see in the below image our Mom clearly had no idea what a selfie was hence the confused “what do I do” face.

DSCN8827 DSCN8833

We finally made it to the tube station and were really shocked as to how underground their subway system is. In NYC, you go down a few steps and are there, but in London you are stories underground. Compared to the NYC subway it was immaculate however, not even a speck of garbage, no smells of pee and other questionable things, it was great!

IMG_0852 IMG_0853

We took the tube a few stops until we emerged at the Natural History Musuem. While my sister and Mom found it to be fascinating, I found it incredibly boring. What I did find fascinating, was the architecture. I spent more time looking, examining, and photographing that than I did the exhibits. It was remarkable, the detail,the stained glass, the time, the materials used, I was in awe. The dinosaurs, rock formations, leaves, what have you left me quite sleepy and I was ready to head elsewhere.

DSCN8838 DSCN8848 DSCN8849 DSCN8836

IMG_0863IMG_0856 IMG_0858  IMG_0864

DSCN8851DSCN8863DSCN8866

Once everyone had their fill, we headed off to the museum I was most eager to see, the Victoria & Albert Museum. There were so many great collections, from fashion labels such as Givenchy, Christian Dior and Alexander McQueen, to rock tees through the decades, to art and artifacts from Ancient Rome, I loved it. We rushed through the museum, much to my dismay. My sister was starving and needed to be fed haha.

DSCN8883DSCN8887DSCN8891

DSCN8885

We bolted off to Harrod’s in search of typical touristy souvenirs and some tea/food. I was not impressed, it was like an ornate Saks Fifth Avenue, but of course it was a must see along the way. We stopped in their “Tea Room” for lunch & while the tea was good the rest of the experience was not. We finished our lunch & headed to the souvenir shop to pick up some ornaments for our Christmas tree, gifts for the family & other gadgets. By this point we were exhausted & headed back to the hotel to shower & get ready for dinner!

DSCN8896 DSCN8898

FSCN7390

We headed to Bocca Di Lupo, a small little Italian spot near the Soho area of London. The food was absolutely perfect. I started off with a radish salad, which was presented in a cute little tower formation. Then moved on to a spaghetti, with basil, olives and fresh tomatoes. This was the only time I was sad over the portion size because it was THAT good. I cannot remember the dessert we tried, but my sister and I like two little kids, started giggling over a dessert entitled “Le palle del nonno” or “Grandpas Balls”. I may almost be 25 but sometimes my brain acts like a 5 year old.

IMG_0883 IMG_0884 IMG_0886

 

Once finished, we gathered up our things and strolled through Piccadilly Circus. It was basically the equivalent of Times Square, my mother was not too happy with the area so I hailed down a cab and we headed off to our hotel for some amazing martinis and Moscow mules.

IMG_0893 IMG_0891 IMG_0889

One thought on “A Cloudy Day in London

  1. What a nice trip, thank you for sharing all these amazing photos. The underground system is really crazy in London, apart from Washington D.C. I know not a single city where the tube shafts are that deep

Leave a Reply

