High Tea for Three

The one thing I wanted to experience in London was high tea. My sister & I already had our fill of tea over the days spent in London, but we were excited to be fancy for a day, get dressed up, and go to one of the most extravagant hotels in England. Our seating was at 1:00, so we spent the day walking around, exploring the streets of London until it was time to get ready! I was in awe everywhere we went. While I love the architecture in some neighborhoods like Soho or the West Village, it was so nice to see so many streets untouched by modern architecture.

IMG_0907

DSCN8904 DSCN8906 DSCN8907 DSCN8909

We journeyed back to our hotel & primped ourselves for high tea at the Ritz London! We hopped in a cab and were greeted by the most amazing cab driver of all time. I never believed I had a strong New Jersey accent, but our cab driver surely thought we did. He asked if we were on that show called the Sopranos, which caused us to burst into a fit of laughter. We finally arrived at the Ritz & headed inside. Our hotel was very modern so we were amazed by the opulence and grandeur of the place. The gold trimming, the ornate fixtures, the marble floors, it was spectacular. We were quickly ushered inside and in true Mrs. Conroy form we were one of the first parties to arrive for our seating, hence why all of our pictures look like no one was there! It was jam packed by the time we departed.

The Palm Court, The Ritz LondonPalm-Court-2-540IMG_0911Freshly baked apple & raisin scones, The Ritz LondonScreen Shot 2014-10-15 at 2.46.27 PM

We were beyond full when we left, having eaten our fill of scones, clotted cream, jam, finger sandwiches, pastries, and tea. Ashley headed back to the room for a nap, so my Mom & I decided to walk around in search of a tea shop. We stopped in a small cathedral along the way. The molding, the columns, the pews, everything was so gorgeous. My mom has yelled at me multiple times when I have said I do not want to get married in my childhood church. I believe it is too modern and lacks beauty, and after seeing how gorgeous these churches were, I am more adamant about it now. There is so much character in older churches, the effort that went into building them, the attention to detail, it makes a huge difference.

DSCN8910 DSCN8911 DSCN8912 DSCN8914

We moseyed around Covent Garden and finally made it to our destination! I picked up a few boxes of tea, some Earl Gray and Chamomille!

DSCN8915   DSCN8923   DSCN8938

 

We headed back to the hotel had a beer, showered up and headed out for dinner. I did not take pictures this night because 1. the lighting in the restaurant was horrible, 2. we were not fond of the restaurant (a small tapas place), and 3. I left my good camera in the hotel room. We got back to the hotel after dinner had some drinks, then drifted off to sleep wanting to be well rested for our last day in London!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

